Jul 1, 2015

Mike O'Hara - Photography

Mike O'hara's photos on wall of LO/CAL cafe in Santa Monia, CA.

More of his work here or on instagram @mikeohara


Jun 29, 2015

Irene Chou - Sound Horizons

Check out Overlap collaborator, Irene Chou's most recent project exhibited at the 2015 CCA MFA Design thesis show -

Sound Horizons: Designing for Perspective, Connection, and Reflection

From Irene -

"What role and potential does sound have in design? In my work, I explore how sound can be used as a metaphor to drive design decisions, as well as a tool within the designed.  My intention is to create experiences that ultimately remind us of what it means to be human."

Project - Static bodies

"This project is a system comprised of a pair of headphones I hacked into and an audio splitter I made with custom circuitry. The two headphone wearers must be physically touching in order for sound to come through."

Project - Quietest feeling

"I was inspired by the idea of silence, which is often more associated with a mood or feeling, rather than the absence of sound. Using bone transducers and pulse sensors, I created a pair of lollipops that collect the rate of a person's heartbeat and plays it back to the person through the teeth."

Pojrect - Awake

"Awake is an object that uses sound as a way to disrupt automatic, habitual behavior. The system is comprised of a Tibetan singing bowl, which is traditionally used in Buddhist cultures to invite awareness back to the present moment. when activated, the bowl spins against a wooden striker, creating a meditative hum. The DC motor upon which the bowl rest can be controlled by a variety of inputs such as time, number of emails, or prolonged periods of sustained scrolling."

Find out more about Irene and her design work at- irenechou.com

Project - Static bodies

Project - Quietest feeling

Pojrect - Awake


Jun 24, 2015

Oskar Zapirain - Foggy Forest Photography

Photographer Oskar Zapirain captures the unique foggy forest in Northern Spain.

A featuring article from Colossal here.


Jun 22, 2015

Recap - Ableton Live Demo at Art Institute

Ableton partnered with Art Institute San Francisco last week for an event having Erin Barra and Christopher Willits showing Ableton Live demos, performances, and Q&As.

Photo from the event -


Jun 19, 2015

Overlap Studio - w/ Taya Shere

Photo recap of a recent mastering session with Taya Shere at Overlap Studio.

Taya Shere is an aritst, musician, writer, teacher based in Oakalnd, CA. From Taya -
"I'm into embodiment and the ever-evolving play between living deeply in the present moment and cultivating our dreams."

For booking, contact studio@overlap.org


Jun 15, 2015

Overlap Education - Jun 20th + 21st - Oakland, CA

Overlap Education is having back to back workshops this weekend at Overlap Studio in Oakland -

 Saturday, Jun 20th, 2015

Advanced Ableton Live w/ Christopher Willits

Enroll in the class

Sunday, Jun 21st, 2015

Acoustics + Home Studio Treatment w/ Ryan Kleeman

Enroll in the class

Both classes are from noon to 4 PM. We hope to see you there.


Jun 12, 2015

Rob Garza - Interview by MagneticMagazine

Last month in May 2015, ENVELOP Kikcstarter campaign was successfully funded! The 3D sound project will start the installation phase in July and will open its space later this year in San Francisco. One of the most exciting Kickstarter rewards includes a private party with Rob Garza (Thievery Corporation) and guest artists. 

You can follow ENVELOP for more details on upcoming ENVELOP events here - https://www.facebook.com/envelopsf

To learn more about Rob Garza, Magnetic Magazine just released an interview about Rob's music and involvements of UR Art Festival and distilling mezcal. Full article here.

(Flier of 2015 UR Art Festival below -)